Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance

Somehow I knew I wasn’t going to like Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance. Not sure how but I just knew. Watching it I felt like I had seen this all before: crappy moralism, philistine religious platitudes, corny action sequences and out of cannon story-blocks which degrade the franchise? Yup, all of that and more. I guess you could say there isn’t much to love.

                Crafted by the people who brought you Crank, that series of movies which brought comedy to action in an Anime-ish manner, the whole movie reeks of something gone bad. The plot is predictable down to the viewer being able to correctly guess what the characters are going to say and do. Worse yet the plot, though basic, does not bring anything new to the table in terms of enjoyment, rather, it brings clichés and offbeat character development which quite frankly feel hugely out of beat in the overall experience.

                While some moments were enjoyable, such as near the end where after the antagonist gives one of his lackeys the power of Decay, these few redeeming instances is not enough to salvage the film as a whole. Indeed it was not for Johnny Cage I do not believe there would be anything worth even spending the time watching.

                Oh well, I guess it was only 95 minutes I will never get back from my life.

Leave a Reply

