Monty Python and the Holy Grail (1974)

I’m not going to say anything that hasn’t already been said. This classic has been around for a while and my insights in this short post aren’t going to amount to anything, so let’s not pretend anything else.

That being said, my thoughts on the film: I loved it.

I don’t really know what to say about it. The humorous songs, the audacious situations, the general spoof of those super-serious Arthurian documentaries… everything about this film was spot on and so a righteous spoofing. I’m not sure if there will ever be another film which is able to rip into the mythos quite as well as this film, but if it does, then that would be a movie worth seeing.

What I enjoyed most about the film was the self-awareness. The horses and coconuts were brilliant as was how the swallow questions factored into the end-game. When King Arthur got bogged down talking politics with the radical commune members, I lost it in the best way possible. It was a kind of self-awareness which took on postmodern inflections, as this is most definitely a postmodern film, but it did so without sacrificing radical politics. In a way, then, it managed to do what most self-aware films today fail to do– edging the audience to action (in this case pontification of history, but this is beside the point). This self-awareness rose questions about foundational Western myths instead of being a bloodbath for the sake of being a bloodbath. Deadpool has a lot to learn.

I am sure that I will watch this film several times more before I become sick of it. Now, I’ve only watched it once, but I have the feeling that this is the beginning of a long a fruitful relationship.

Who knows, maybe I will even see a moose before it is all over?

Leave a Reply

